The Thrillers are Here

The International Thriller Writers (ITW) will begin awarding "The Thriller" for excellence in — what else? — thriller writing. As they say in their press release:

For the first time, novels that
either transcend or amplify the traditional genre into the realm of
thriller will be honored and acknowledged.

The awards include Best Novel, Best Paperback, Best First Novel, Best Screenplay, and The Distinguished Literature Award, the ITW equivalent of MWA’s Grandmaster.

This award honors authors whose body of work in books or film
has had a significant positive impact on literature over a sustained period of
time.  Only authors whose body of work encompasses a minimum of twenty years are
eligible.  Each year the ITW board will poll the membership for suggestions. 
The board will choose the honoree by majority vote.

The top five finalists in each category will be announced at
Left Coast Crime in Bristol England (March 16-19, 2006).  The winners will be announced at the first annual International Festival of Thrillers (June 29-July2, 2006) at the Biltmore Hotel
in Phoenix, AZ. Visit the ITW website for more details.

Leave a Comment