The Thrilling Thrillers

The International Thriller Writers  Association
has announced the first nominees for their annual Thriller Award… and they are:


PANIC by Jeff Abbott (Dutton)
CONSENT TO KILL by Vince Flynn (Atria)
VELOCITY by Dean Koontz (Bantam)
THE PATRIOTS CLUB by Christopher Reich (Delacorte Press)
CITIZEN VINCE by Jess Walter (Regan Books)

IMPROBABLE by Adam Fawer (William Morrow)
THE COLOR OF LAW by Mark Gimenez (Doubleday)
COLD GRANITE by Stuart MacBride (St. Martin’s Minotaur)
PAIN KILLER by Will Staeger (William Morrow)
BENEATH A PANAMANIAN MOON by David Terrenoire (Thomas Dunne

SLEEPER CELL by Jeffrey Anderson (Berkley)
PRIDE RUNS DEEP by R. Cameron Cooke (Jove)
UPSIDE DOWN by John Ramsay Miller (Dell)
THE DYING HOUR by Rick Mofina (Pinnacle Books)
EXIT STRATEGY by Michael Wiecek (Jove)

MATCH POINT, screenplay by Woody Allen
SYRIANA, based on the book by Robert Baer, written by Stephen
CACHE screenplay by Michael Haneke
OLDBOY screenplay by Jo-yun Hwang, Chun-hyeong Lim, Joon-hyung Lim, and
Chan-wook Park; story by Garon Tsuchiya
MUNICH,screenplay by Tony Kushner and Eric Roth; based on the book by
George Jonas

The awards will be given at Thrillfest in Phoenix in June.

7 thoughts on “The Thrilling Thrillers”

  1. “Interesting that all the novel author nominees are men.”
    It’s not particularly notable when you take into consideration that the vast majority of thriller writers are men, and that disparity was reflected in the submissions.
    You can see the list of books that were submitted here:
    I was a judge for Best First Novel and only 6 of the 37 submitted books were written by women. (One of them co-authored by a man.) The situation was the same thing in the Best Novel category.
    That lack of female writers in the genre is one of the things that ITW is trying to address.


Leave a Comment